Professor Zaw Wai Soe


M.B.B.S (Ygn),M.Med.Sc(Ortho),FRCS(Glasg), Dr.Med.Sc(Ortho),Dip.Med.Ed

The Administrative Body
1 Rector Prof. Zaw Wai Soe   Chairman
2 Pro-rector Prof. Theingi Myint   Vice-Chairman
3 Two rectors under the Ministry of Health Prof. Aye Aung University of Medicine 2, Yangon   Member
Prof. Shwe Toe University of Dental Medicine
4 Medical Superintendent Yangon General Hospital   Member
5 Three senior Heads of Departments Prof. U Tin Latt (Head of Surgery)   Member
Prof. U Zaw Linn Aung
Prof. Daw Hla Hla Win( Head of PSM)
6 Registrar Daw Mya Mya Mu   Member
7 Assistant Registrar U Chit Aye   Member
8 Head (Administration and Finance Division) Daw Cho Cho Han   Secretary


  1. To act in accordance with rules, directives and orders relating to financial matters
  2. To prescribe and enforce rules and regulations for students
  3. To supervise matters relating to the estate
  4. To supervise sports and cultural activities of students
  5. To supervise and promote the health of the staff and students
  6. To select students who deserve stipends or free tuition
The Academic Body
1 Rector Prof. Zaw Wai Soe   Chairman
2 Pro-rector Prof. Theingi Myint   Vice-Chairman
3 Heads of Departments   Member
4 Heads of Postgraduate Courses   Member
5 Medical Superintendents of affiliated teaching Hospitals Yangon General Hospital   Member
New Yangon General Hospital
Central Women Hospital
Yangon Children Hospital
6 Head (Administration and Finance Division) Daw Cho Cho Han   Member
7 Assistant Registrars   Member
8 Registrar Daw Mya Mya Mu   Secretary


  1. To collaborate with the various Boards of Studies and steer the courses in keeping with the political, economic and social systems of the Union of Myanmar
  2. To inspect the curricula and syllabi put up by the various Boards of Studies, approve, and forward it to the Council of Academic Bodies
  3. To supervise whether teaching is in accordance with the approved curricula and syllabi
  4. To hold examinations and publish the results
  5. To confer degrees, diplomas and, award prizes
  6. To recommend the creation of new departments
  7. To scrutinize and prescribe textbooks to be used at the University
  8. To introduce postgraduate courses in collaboration with the teaching departments