Department of Cardiology

Background History

The Cardiac Medical Department was initiated in 1965 by Dr PR Mohan, lecturer in Medicine, Institute of Medicine (1) in East Wing, top floor Ward 19 & 20, Yangon General Hospital. Treadmill and ECG monitors were donated by Australian Government.
From 1977 to 1989, Dr U Shwe Tin, lecturer in Medicine, became Head of Department at the same place. Echocardiogram, Holter monitor, Treadmill, ECG monitors were donated by the Japanese Government.
In 1989, Dr U Aung, lecturer in Medicine, Institute of Medicine (1) became Head of Department and was promoted to Professor of Cardiology in 1997. The department was moved to the first floor of Ward 19 & 20. In 1997, he was appointed as Chairman of Postgraduate studies for Doctor of Medicine (Cardiology) Institute of Medicine (1).
A new Catheterization Lab for Percutaneous Coronary Intervention and Electrophysiological  Studies, Echocardiogram, Holter monitor, Treadmill were provided by Ministry of Health. The coronary angiogram was established in 1st August, 2000.
In 2014-2015, two new Catheterization lab were upgraded including installation of 3 D mapping system for Electrophysiological study.
The services provided by the Department of Cardiology include management of cardiac patients (including inpatients and outpatients) and teaching (undergraduate, post graduate, doctorate students) and training of medical officers and allied professionals (nurses, technicians).
Currently, the department of Cardiology is providing emergency angioplasty (Primary Percutaneous Coronary Intervention) service for patients presenting with acute ST segment Elevation Myocardial Infarct. Other procedures provided in Cardiac Catheterization Laboratory include percutaneous coronary intervention, cardiac electronic device implantations such as  permanent pacemaker, implantable defibrillator , cardiac  resynchronizaion  therapy device implantation, and electrophysiological study and radiofrequency ablation for various types of arrhythmia, percutaneous transmitral commissurotomy for mitral stenosis and percutaneous structural heart disease intervention.

Department Heads

No Name Graduate From – To
1 Dr PR Mohan (1965-1977)
2 Dr U Shwe Tin (1977-1989)
3 Dr U Aung (1989-1991)
4 Prof U Aung (1991-2003)
5 Prof Daw Khin May San (2003-2007)
6 Prof U Tin Latt (2007-2010)
7 Prof Nwe Nwe (2010- to date)

Contact Ph. No and Email

News and Activities