Department of Chemistry

Daw Khin Ohn Myint

M.Sc. (Chem.)

Background History

Before 1964, the subject of chemistry was taught by the faculty of the Department of Chemistry in Rangoon Arts and Science University. In 1964, the Department of Chemistry was established in the Institute of Medicine 1, Yangon with Dr. Mg  Kyaw as the first Head of the Chemistry Department. At that time, the faculty were assigned by the Ministry of Education. In 1982, all faculty members working in the Department of Chemistry in the Institute of Medicine 1, 2 and Mandalay and other Colleges and Universities were given the option to remain as employees under the Ministry of Education or be transferred to the Ministry of Health. Before 1988, the duration of the First Year Academic Course was one and a half years. However, after 1990, it was changed to one academic year.

Department Heads

No Name Graduate From - To
Daw Khin Ohn Myint M.Sc. (Chem.)

Contact Ph. No and Email

No Name Rank Phone Number Email
1 Daw Khin Ohn Myint Lecturer/Head 09-5054873
2 Daw Ei Ei Khaing Lecturer 09-43160063 eieikhine.
3 Daw Nwe Ni Aung Lecturer 09-5037616 nweniaung.
4 Daw Soe Soe Maw Lecturer 09-5046746 soesoemaw.