Department of Forensic Medicine

Prof. Dr. Myo Thaik Oo

MBBS Ph.D (Tsukuba,Japan)

Background History

Since  the  founding  of  the  Department  of  forensic  Medicine, University  of  Rangoon, in  1927,the  Head  of  Department  has  always  traditionally  been  Surgeon  of  the  Rangoon  General  Hospital.  This  unique  arrangement   made  it  possible  for  the  students  to  regularly  acquire  the  knowledge  of  practical  application   of  the  theory  of  Forensic   Medicine which  they  received  in  the  lectures. The  students  are  given  open   opportunities  to  be  present   at  medicolegal  post-mortem  examinations  held  at  the  Office  of  the  police  surgeon.  In  fact, compulsory  attendances  at  these  sessions  are  part  of  the  regular  training.
The  founder  of  the  Department, Professor  Lt. Colonel  Owens  was  recognized  in  neighbouring  countries  as  a  leading   medicolegalist  whose  book  “Lyon’s  Medical  jurisprudence  for  india”, 9th   edition  was  accepted  as  a  text  book  of  forensic  Medicine  in  many  Medical  Colleges  of  India  and  Burma   at  that  time. A  fine  museum  which  reflected  the  extent  of   his  life’s  work  was  destroyed  during  the  World  War  II.
In  1953,there  was  creation  of  full-time  police  Surgeon  posts  as  well  as  Head  of  Department  in  Medical  College  and  Dr. Mg  Mg  Taik  became  the  first  full-time  police  Surgeon   in  forensic   Medicine  at  Yangon  General  Hospital. Dr. Mg  Mg  Taik  was  also  lecturer  and  Head  of  the  Department  of  Forensic  Medicine  at  the  institute  of   Medicine  (1) Yangon.  On   18.11.1988,Dr. Bah  Choon  was  given  a  professorial  chair  and  since  then, the  department  was  raised  to  a  professorial  chair  and  since  then, the  department  was  raised  to  a  professorial  status   for  the  first   time.
The  Department  is  also  a  centre  where  officers  of  the  Criminal  Investigation  Department, Myanmar  police, receive  their  training  in  Forensic  Medicine.   Postgraduate training courses have been started as Diploma (Medical Jurisprudence) from 1996 to 2000, Master of Medical Science (Medical Jurisprudence) from 2000 and Doctor of Medical Science (Medical Jurisprudence) from 2003.  The  Department  also plays a  major   role  in  the  teaching  of  medical  ethics  to  undergraduate  and  postgraduate  students.

Department Heads

No Name Graduate From - To
1 Lt. Colonel Owens 1927-1935
2 Dr. David 1935-1938
3 Dr. Ba Than 1938-1947
4 Dr. D.M.Nundy 1948~
5 Dr. U Sein Maung ~ 1953
6 Dr. Mg Mg Taik MBBS (Lucknow),B.L. 1953-1978
7 Prof. Bah Choon MBBS 1978-1993
8 Professor David Kyaw MBBS, HGP, DMJ (Clin et Path) (London),
9 Professor Thein Zaw MBBS, DMJ (Clin et Path) (London),
2003- 2011
10 Professor Win Kyi MBBS, DMJ, MMedSc(Med.Juris)
Dr MedSc (Med.Juris)
11 Professor Myo Thaik Oo MBBS, Ph.D (Tsukuba,Japan) 2014 -date

Contact Ph. No and Email

No Name Rank Phone Number Email
1 Prof. Dr. Myo Thaik Oo Prof/Head 095340237
2 Dr. Chan Myae Thein Associate Professor 095154619
3 Dr. Than Htut Zaw Lecturer 095045945
4 Dr. Yan Htoo Aung Lecturer 09450013542
5 Dr. Min Thu Lecturer 095155775
6 Dr. Zaw Min Htut Lecturer 095416846
7 Dr.Khaing Yee Mon Aung Lecturer ‭09400940040‬