Department of Nuclear Medicine

Professor War War Wann Maung

M.B.,B.S, Dip.Med.Sc M.Sc Nuclear Medicine (KCL), UK FRCP (Glasg.)

Background History

The Department of Radioisotope, the forerunner of future Department of Nuclear Medicine was founded in1963 following the visits of fact-finding mission in 1959, and Dr.E.H.Belcher, the then Head of the Division of Life Sciences of the International Atomic Energy Agency, and consultation with local health authorities in early 1963. The first expertise service was received in June 1965. Thanks to relentless efforts and untiring endeavour of the co-founders, Dr.R.Hoschl and Dr.Soe Myint, the then Head of the Unit, a vast number of diagnostic tests were introduced over the four year period including organ uptake studies, flow rate measurements and basic haematological tests. Radioiodine therapy for thyrotoxicosis and cancer thyroid are also introduced.
With the receipt of the Rectilinear Scanner in 1966 and Three-Probe Scintillation Detector System in 1968 under the IAEA Project BUR/6/04, the activities are further extended incorporating scintigraphy, renography, 51Cr-red blood cell survival and ferrokinetic studies with 59Fe, blood volume studies, vit B12 absorption studies, into the daily routines.
In 1974, The Department was provided with a well counter with automatic sample changer, printer and Liquid Scintillation Counter under Project BUR/6/05.The second Agency’s expert who took up assignment for 6 months in 1974 developed radiopharmacy techniques for preparation of Generator – Produced radio- pharmaceuticals. With the success of development of radiopharmacy, inhouse preparation of macroaggregated albumin (MAA) is used in lung scintigraphy.
The Japanese Government donated Ohio Nuclear Gamma Camera in March 1975 on request of the Department of Health. During that year, physicians, Invivo,Invitro technologist got IAEA fellowship grant and was sent to UK  to attend post graduate studies. After their return to the department, Placenta localization, 32P therapy in polycythemia vera and 198Au colloidal gold for palliative treatment of ascites caused by ovarian cancer were introduced.
The Invitro section of the Department opened a new chapter in 1982 under the supervision of Dr.R.D. Piyasena, who set up the Radioimmunoassay procedures for thyroid related hormones, cortisol and sex hormones using bulk reagents. He also set up Nuclear Medicine Invitro laboratory at The Department of Medical Research in Yangon.
  Japan International Co-operation Agency (JICA) provided a fully equipped Nuclear Medicine Unit at New General Yangon Hospital in February 1987.
In 1996, diagnosis of Hepatitis B infection was conducted. In March 1997, RCA silver jubilee, 19th working group meeting was held in Yangon, Myanmar. In 2005 the department joined IAEA Distance Assisted Training for Nuclear Medicine Technologists. In 2006, Neonatal Hypothyroid screening project was conducted, in collaboration with the Department of Medical Research.
In January 1998 Ministry of Health inaugurated a new Department of Nuclear Medicine at Mandalay General Hospital, teaching hospital of University of Medicine, Mandalay, the second largest city in Myanmar. With an aim for providing extended diagnostic services, establishment of new Departments are made at Thingangyun General Hospital and North Okkalapa Teaching Hospitals of University of Medicine 2 in 2002 and 2003 respectively.
In January 1999 a post graduate Diploma in Nuclear Medicine was inaugurated at the University of Medicine 1, Yangon. After eight years, the one year course was extended to two years Master Programme in January 2007. In 2017 the course is extended for three years.
In 2009 a new Invivo / Invitro Diagnostic and Therapeutic Nuclear Medicine was established in 1000 bedded specialist hospital at Naypyidaw, a new Administrative Capital of Myanmar.
In 1000 bedded Military specialist hospital at Naypyidaw there is also a diagnostic Nuclear Medicine Department.
At present, there are six Nuclear Medicine centers under the Ministry of Health and one in private sector. Regarding the equipment, the first dual head SPECT camera was received in 2003, and Nuclear Cardiology imaging started. In 2014 SPECT-CT cameras were installed in all centers. With the receipt of PET-CT in 2015 and Cyclotron in 2016 Nuclear Oncology starts to flourish. In the near future, more centers will be coming up in Shan States and Magwe Division, teaching hospitals of University of Medicine. Also PET-CT centers will emerge in private sector.
The Department participated in various IAEA Technical Co-Operation Projects since 1963, IAEA Regional Co-Operation Projects (RCA) since 1987 and Co-Ordinated research projects. Also attended Asian Regional Co-Operative Council for Nuclear Medicine (ARCCNM) since 2003.
  Myanmar Nuclear Medicine Society was officially registered as a member society of Myanmar Medical Association in 2014. On 29.9.2016, a separate specialist society was established. The society maintains relationship with international organizations and acted as host country in symposiums, training courses and meetings every year since 2013. The society become a member state of the Asian School of Nuclear Medicine in May 2016 and member state of WFNMB in October 2016. The society successfully completed IAEA QUANUM audit in September 2016.
Many experts in Nuclear Medicine from other countries have played major roles in the improvement of Nuclear Medicine services in Myanmar.
The country in general and the Department in particular has benefited significantly from IAEA support. The International Atomic Energy Agency has played and will continue to play a pivotal role not only for successful implementation of the projects but also for sustainable growth and development of the Myanmar Nuclear Medicine.
Our vision is to provide a wide spectrum of Nuclear Medicine services at a level compatible with internationally accepted standards and to become a center of excellence in providing efficient, up- to-date and timely Nuclear Medicine services.

Department Heads

No Name Graduate From - To
1 Prof.Dr Win Mar M.B.,B.S,M.Sc (Nuclear Medicine)(Landon)
2 AP Dr U Tin Mg Thein M.B.,B.S,M.Sc (Nuclear Medicine)(Parkistan)
3 Prof.Dr U Kyin Myint M.B.,B.S,M.Sc (Nuclear Medicine)(Parkistan)
4 Professor War War Wann Maung M.B.,B.S, Dip.Med.Sc
M.Sc Nuclear Medicine (KCL), UK
FRCP (Glasg.)

Contact Ph. No and Email

No Name Rank Phone Number Email
1 Professor War War Wann Maung Professor / Head 09 517 4161
2 Daw Ohnmar Swe Chief Technical Officer /
Quality Assurance Manager
(Adjunct teaching staff)
09 264 274 192
3 Daw Ei Ei Khine Chief Technical Officer (Cyclotron)
(Adjunct teaching staff)
09 253 520 037
4 Daw Thin Thin Myint Chief Technical Officer
(Nuclear Medicine and PET)
(Adjunct teaching staff)
09 265 332 722
5 Daw Now Hsel Hsel Phaw Radiopharmacist
(Adjunct teaching staff)
09 421 718 569
6 Daw Nilar Thein Chief Technical Officer RIA Laboratory
(Adjunct teaching staff)
09 263 211 608
7 Dr. Chaw Hsu Win Assistant 09 254 220 008
8 Dr. Su Yin Phyo Shein Assistant 09 795 941 391
9 Dr. May Wathn Myo Assistant 09 515 9316
10 Dr. Than Than Htay Aung Assistant 09 421 108 940
11 Dr. Thandar Oo Assistant 09 450 039 777
12 Dr. Ei Thinzar Lwin Assistant 09 502 2678
13 Dr. Hayman Soe Assistant 09 428 129 630