Department of Ophthalmology

Professor Tin Win

M.B.,B.S, M.Med.Sc, Dr.Med.Sc, Dip.Med.Ed

Background History

The eye ward was established in ward 9 & 10 in Yangon General Hospital in 1908 under Lt. Colonel Cormack (M.D, F.R.C.S.E, I.M.S) as ward in- charge. In 1965,Yangon Eye, Ear, Nose & Throat Hospital (100 bedded) was founded in No.67, Signal Pagoda Road, Dagon Township, Yangon. In 1993, Yangon Eye Hospital became an independent entity in No.30, Nat Mauk Road, Tamwe Township, Yangon.

In 1972, Postgraduate School of Ophthalmology was established for Diploma in Ophthalmology (2 year) training. The principal was Dr. Ko Gyi who was also a part-time Professor of Surgery. The first batch of M.Med.Sc (Ophthalmology) was started in February, 1981. In 1985-86, Postgraduate School of Ophthalmology came under University of Medicine (1), Yangon as Department of Ophthalmology. The first professorial chair was created in 1986. Dr.Med.Sc (Ophthalmology), a doctorate course, was started in January, 2002.

Department Heads

No Name Graduate From - To
1 Lt. Colonel Cornack M.D, F.R.C.S.E, I.M.S (1908-1939)
2 Dr. Chan Taik M.B(Cal), D.O; D.O.M.S, D.T.M&H (1939-1952)
3 Dr. Ko Gyi M.B.,B.S, D.O, F.R.C.S (May 1952-1974)
4 Professor Myint Thein M.B.,B.S, D.O, F.R.C.S (May 1974-11.12.1991)
5 Professor Than Aung M.B.,B.S, D.O, F.R.C.S (12.12.1991-31.12.2004)
6 Professor Daw Myint Khine M.B.,B.S, D.O, M.Med.Sc (19.1.2004-16.12.2006)
7 Professor Tin Win M.B.,B.S, M.Med.Sc, Dr.Med.Sc, Dip.Med.Ed (5.2.2007-to date)

Contact Ph. No and Email

No Name Rank Phone Number Email
1 Professor Tin Win Professor / Head of Department 095405466
2 Professor KhinOmmarKhine Professor 095016240
3 Professor San Myint Professor 095000209
4 Associate Professor KhineMyat Su Associate Professor 098624967
5 Associate Professor ThazinShwe Associate Professor 095147532
6 Associate Professor San Hlaing Min Associate Professor 095148950
7 Dr. KhinOo May Lecturer 095192191
8 Dr .ChawWaiLwin Lecturer 095061456
9 Dr. May KoKoThet Lecturer 095405115
10 Dr. KoKo Lin Lecturer 095405225
11 Dr. Thein Than Htaike Lecturer Ph.095039026
12 Dr. WahWahLwin Lecturer 095195530
13 Dr. May ZunAung Win Lecturer 095144215
14 Dr. ThazinWuitHmone Lecturer 095193712
15 Dr. DeparSoe Lecturer 095006028
16 . Dr. Aye Win MyintPhyo Lecturer 095179321
17 Dr. WintWahHlaing Lecturer 095190903
18 Dr.Mya Wut Yee Soe Lecturer 095110423
19 Dr. Aeinda Aye Win Assistant Lecturer 095051461
20 Dr. Moe San Assistant Lecturer 09450011468
21 Dr. PyaePyaeThein Assistant Lecturer 095110175
22 Dr. ThaPyayAung Assistant Lecturer 09790952044
23 Dr. ThaePhyuPhyuZin Assistant Lecturer 09974588939
24 Dr. KhinPhyuLwin Assistant Lecturer 0950225005