Department of Orthopedics

Prof. Khin Maung Myint

Background History

Department  of  Orthopaedics, University of Medicine (1) Yangon was officially opened in 1990 as an inderendent faculty in Orthopaedic and Traumatology. Professor Khin Maung Tu was first head of department followed by Prof.Kyaw Myint Naing, Professor Thit Lwin, Professor Myint Thaung, Professor Christopherson Ah Maung, and currently Professor Khin Maung Myint is Leading the Department as head. Functionally, destination in Orthopaedic profession is  Yangon Orthopaedic Hospital as an administrative department and Orthopaedic Traumatology in Yangon General Hospital. Paediatric Orthopaedic Service is functioning in Yangon Paediatric Hospital. Hand and Micro-reconstructive Surgery is functionally established in Yangon Orthopaedic Hospital and Trauma care in Yangon General Hospital. Spine surgery service is functionally well established on 50 beded Spine centre in Yangon Orthopaedic Hospital since 2015.
Department of Orthopaedics, University of Medicine (1) was hosting the post-graduate Training in Orthopaedics as Master Degree in 1982, Doctorate degree on 1998, Doctorate degree in Hand surgery (2000) and Doctorate degree in Spine (2015).
Currently, University of Medicine (1) is directed forward to centre of excellency in education and Training, in collaboration with many regional and international universities to improve educational strategies and value outcome.

Department Heads

No Name Graduate From - To
1 Prof. Khin Maung Myint

Contact Ph. No and Email

No Name Rank Phone Number Email
1 Prof. Khin Maung Myint Professor & Head 09-5148052
2 Prof. Aung Thein Htay Professor 09-73183467
3 Dr. Kyaw Zeya Associate Professor 09-5164090
4 Dr. Kyaw Min Soe Associate Professor 09-5106738
5 Dr. Chan Mya Ohn Lecture 09-5194293
6 Dr. Thae Wutt Yee Lecturer 09-5025866
7 Dr. Kyaw Thura Lecturer 09-252237603
8 Dr. Soe San Lecture 09-5064334
9 Dr. Thurein Win Naing Lecture 09-5080581
10 Dr. Thant Zin Oo Lecture 09-5080583
11 Dr. La Min Than Cho Assistant Lecture 09-5107702
12 Dr.Win Htike Assistant Lecture 09-5202055
13 Dr. Aung Ye Yint Thein Assistant Lecture 09-5036708