Department of Otorhinolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery

Background History

The speciality was once known as Ear, Nose and Throat (ENT) and the first ENT surgeon was Dr. C C .Day. He was attached to one of the general surgical wards of Rangoon General Hospital and he retired in 1963. A separate ENT Department in Eye ENT Hospital (previously known as Seventh Day Adventist Hospital) was started by Dr. U Thar Hlaing in 1965 and it was regarded as the establishment of ENT speciality in Myanmar. The other founders were Dr. U Thein Maung and Dr. U Soe Tin.

Department Heads

No Name Graduate From – To
1 Professor U Thar Hlaing M.B.,B.S.(Ygn) D.L.O.(Lond)
(1970- 1986)
2 Professor U Thein Maung M.B.,B.S.(Ygn) D.L.O.(Lond)
FRCS (Edin) FRCS(Lond)
3 Dr. Daw Soe Yi M.B.,B.S.(Ygn) D.L.O.
M.Med.Sc (ENT)
4 Professor U Myo Min M.B.,B.S.(Ygn) D.L.O. (1995-2004)
5 Professor U Thein Tun M.B.,B.S.(Ygn) D.L.O.
M.Med.Sc.(ENT) FRCS (Edin)
6 Professor U Maung Maung Khaing M.B.,B.S.(Mdy) M.Med.Sc.(ENT)
Dr.Med.Sc.(ORL) Dip.Med.Ed.
(2013- to date)

Contact Ph. No and Email

No Name Phone Number Email
2 PROF.DR. D’ KHIN HLA HLA 09-250081981
3 DR.D’ KHIN WIN KYAW 09-5098283
4 DR.D’ YIN YIN HTWE 09-2022001
5 DR.D’ THIDAR SOE 09-253382501
6 DR. D’ HNIN PHYU 09-5026259
7 DR. D’ KAY KAY TIN WIN 09-5161393
8 DR. U TIN MAUNG WIN 09-5009932
9 D’ SEINN MOH WAI 09-420177375