Department of Pediatric Surgery

Prof. Aye Aye

M.B.,B.S, M.Med.Sc,, FRCSEd
DrMed.Sc (Paediatric Surgery),Dip.M.E.

Background History

From 1960, child patients including those with surgical conditions were treated in circular ward of Rangoon General Hospital. In 1962-63, children ward was moved to Thirimingalar lane, Myaenigone, (now National Health Museum) having only about 80 pediatric beds including surgical cases. In 1963, Children Hospital was opened at No (2), Pyaedaungsu Yeiktha Road, previously known as Gymkana club. Proper Pediatric Surgical ward was opened only in 1965. Consultant surgeon, Dr PeNyun was in-charge of the surgical ward. In 1970, the first conjoined twins of Myanmar, Ma Nan Soe and Ma Nan San were successfully separated by Myanmar Pediatric Surgeons, Dr.Pe Nyun and Dr Htut Saing. When Surgical Unit 2 was opened in 1976, Dr.Htut Saing was in-charge.
The 550 bedded hospital (YCH) was opened in 1978 which includes 2 surgical wards, 3 medical wards, one neonatal ward and separate Operating theatre suite. The first Professional chair of Pediatric Surgery was created in 1997. The second conjoined twins of Myanmar, Aye Aye Nyein and Ei Ei Nyein were successfully operated in 1993 by Myanmar Pediatric Surgical team led by Professor U Maung Maung and Dr.Aung Kyi. At present, the Department of Pediatric Surgery has 3 surgical wards, one pediatric burn unit and one pediatric orthopedic ward. There is an annual average of 4600 surgical in-patients and 8400 out-patients, and annually 5500 major and minor operations are performed every year. The Department of Pediatric Surgery is under the University of Medicine (1) and participates in teaching of final Part 1 and Part 2 M.B.,B.S ,M.Med.Sc (Surgery, Pediatric &  Pediatric Surgery), Dr.Med.Sc (Pediatric Surgery), M.N.Sc and Nursing specialty for Child Health students according to their programs and other teaching activities. The Department of Pediatric Surgery also has cooperation with International Child Hospitals. Young surgical trainees are sent for further studies to Canada ,France, Hong kong as well as Singapore.

Department Heads

No Name From - To
1 Dr. Pe Nyun
2 Dr. Htut Saing
3 Prof. Maung Maung
M.B.,B.S,FRCS Eng & Edin
4 Prof. Aung Kyi
M.B.,B.S,,M.Med.Sc,,FRCS Glas
5 Prof. Htoo Han
6 Prof. Aye Aye
M.B.,B.S, M.Med.Sc,, FRCSEd
DrMed.Sc (Paediatric Surgery),Dip.M.E.
(2015- to date)

Contact Ph. No and Email

No Name Rank Phone Number Email