Department of Pediatrics

Prof. Ye Myint Kyaw

M.B.,B.S.,M.Med.Sc.(Paed.), MRCP (UK), MRCPCH(UK),
DCH(Glasgow), Dr.M.Med.Sc.(Paed.)FRCP (Edin), Dip.Med.Ed., FRCPCH

Background History

The Department of Child Health became an independent major clinical department in the academic year 1964-65. The staff, at that time, consisted of one part-time lecturer and head, and one full-time assistant lecturer. The Head of the Department was Dr.U Tin U.
In 1966-67, two full-time assistant lecturer posts and three part time lecturer posts were created in addition to three part-time clinical tutors. In 1971-72, Chair for Department of Child Health was created and Dr.U Tin U was appointed as Professor and continued to be the Head of the Department. The current set-up for the department since 2003 consists of one professor and head, two clinical professors, six associate professors, twelve lecturers and twenty four assistant lecturers.
The first post-graduate course in Pediatrics, Diploma in Child Health, was inaugurated in May, 1971. School of Child Health was founded as one of the five postgraduate schools directly under the charge of the Director-General of Medical Education and it continued to offer Diploma course up to 1988. The first Master of Medical Science (Pediatrics) course was inaugurated in 1976. It was a two year course with an additional one year clinical training after graduation when it was started. However, this was modified to a three year programme in 1998 to have structured and comprehensive training. The first Doctorate of Medical Science (General Pediatrics) course was initiated in 1997.Diploma in Child Health Course was initiated in 2014.

Department Heads

No Name Graduate From - To
1 Prof. Tin U M.B.,B.S., DCH (Lond) , MRCP (Edin), FRCP (Edin) (1963-1983)
2 Prof. Myo Min Aung M.B.,B.S., DCH (Lond) , MRCP (Edin), FRCP (Edin) (1983-1988)
3 Prof. Thein Thein Myint M.B.,B.S., DCH (Lond) , MRCP (Edin), FRCP (Edin),
FRCP (Lond), FRCPCH, Dr.Med.Sc. (Hon)
4 Prof. Thein Aung M.B.,B.S., DCH (Lond) , MRCP (UK), FRCP (Edin),
FRCPCH, Dr.Med.Sc. (Hon)
5 Prof.Aye Maung Han M.B.,B.S., DCH , M.Med.Sc.(Paed.), MRCP (UK),
FRCP (Edin), FRCPCH, Dr.Med.Sc.(Paed.)
6 Prof. Khin Htwe M.B.,B.S., DCH , M.Med.Sc.(Paed.), MRCP (UK), FRCP (Edin), MRCPCH,
7 Prof. Kyu Kyu Khin M.B.,B.S., DCH , M.Med.Sc.(Paed.), MRCP (UK),
MRCPCH, Dip.Med.Ed., FRCP (Edin)
8 Prof. Saw Win M.B.,B.S., DCH , M.Med.Sc.(Paed.), MRCP (UK),
MRCPCH, DCH (Glasgow),DTM&H, Dip.Med.Ed., FRCP (Edin)
9 Prof. Ye Myint Kyaw M.B.,B.S.,M.Med.Sc.(Paed.), MRCP (UK), MRCPCH(UK),
DCH(Glasgow), Dr.M.Med.Sc.(Paed.)FRCP (Edin), Dip.Med.Ed., FRCPCH
(2013- to date)

Contact Ph. No and Email

No Name Rank Phone Number Email
1 Professor Ye Myint Kyaw Professor & Head 01- 218426
2 Professor May Lwin Professor 09-5009743
3 Professor Ei Phyu Lwin Professor 09-5020908
4 A P Dr Tin Tin Aye Associate Professor 09- 5014046
5 AP Dr.Kyu Kyu Win Associate Professor 09- 5161991
6 AP Dr.Naing Oo Associate Professor 09-5006158
7 AP Dr.Khin Swe Aye Associate Professor 09-5145070
8 AP Dr.Tin Moe Phyu Associate Professor 09-5003364
9 Dr.Su Linn Hlaing Lecturer 09-5144537
10 Dr.May Thet Swe Lecturer 09-31263633
11 Dr.Thin Myat Moe Lecturer 09-5194092
12 Dr.Nyein Aye Wint Lecturer 09-5060865
13 Dr.Thuzar Myint Lecturer 09-5105844
14 Dr.Myat Thida Seinn Lecturer 09-5190582
15 Dr.Aye Mu Sann Lecturer 09-73003455
16 Dr.Myint Myint Than Lecturer 09-5344097
17 Dr.Thet Htar Shwe Sin Win Lecturer 09-5342461
18 Dr.Sandar Ko Lecturer 09-5043887
19 Dr.Khaing Mi Mi Ko Assistant Lecture 09-5013797
20 Dr.Lwin Mar Phyo Assistant Lecture 09-2000250
21 Dr.Aye Myat Sandar Win Assistant Lecture 09-5045229
22 Dr.Theint Theint Thu Assistant Lecture 09-5082235
23 Dr.Su Myat Tin Assistant Lecture 09-5042481
24 Dr.Mon Thandar Saw Assistant Lecture 09-5197144
25 Dr.Ei Ei Khaing Assistant Lecture 09-5020396
26 Dr.Su Myat Soe Assistant Lecture 09-5502814
27 Dr.Kyaw Linn Htet Assistant Lecture 09-254591275
28 Dr.May Oo Khaing Assistant Lecture 09-5001962
29 Dr.Hnin Ou Lwin Assistant Lecture 09-420027476