Department of Respiratory Medicine

Background History

This department was started at the extension building of Yangon General Hospital on 19 February 1982. It was initially founded by Senior Consultant Physician Dr Kyaw Myint with the great aid of staff nurse Daw Thein Yee. Later, both of them were promoted to Professor and Sister. This department was reinforced by Dr Tin Maung Cho at 1987. Currently, this department is fully equipped with respiratory instruments and machines.

Department Heads

No Name Graduate From - To
1 Professor Kyaw Myint MBBS (Rgn), MRCP (UK), FRCP (Edin), FRCP (Glas),
FRCP (London), FCCP, Dr.Med.Sc (Hon)
(1982 – 1996)
2 Professor Tin Maung Cho MBBS (Rgn), M.Med.Sc (Int. Med), FRCP (Edin),
(1997 – Oct 2008)
3 Professor Win Naing MBBS (Rgn), M.Med.Sc (Int. Med), MRCP (UK),
FRCP (Edin), FCCP (USA), Dip.Med.Edu
(Oct 2008 – to date)

Contact Ph. No and Email

No Name Rank Phone Number Email
1 Prof. U Win Naing 092000488
2 Prof.Dr. Daw Toe Sanda 095086615
3 Dr. Yin Mon Thant 095148819
4 Dr. Htun Htun Win 092035265
5 Dr. Win Win Myint 095178637
6 Dr. Ye Thu Han 09261005700
7 Daw Htay Htay Myint 095405393
8 Department of Respiratory Medicine 012301628 ext.146

News and Activities