Department of Uro Surgery

Background History

Started as Urology division under Department of Surgery at Yangon General Hospital, from October, 1958 to May, 1990.
Department of Urology was formed in May, 1990.
We moved to the current location at Yangon Specialty Hospital on 26th August, 2014.
Extension ward was opened by Union Minister HE. Dr U Myint Htwe on 1st November, 2017.

Department Heads

No Name Graduate From – To
1 Dr U Kyaw Than M.B.,B.S., FRCS 1958 Oct – 1959 Jan
2 Dr U Kyaw Lin M.B.,B.S., FRCS 1970 Feb – 1984 Jul
3 Prof. Mya Thaung M.B.,B.S., FRCS(C)
1984 Aug – 1992 Nov
4 Prof. Than Aye M.B.,B.S., FRCS,
Dr.Med.Sc. (Uro)(Hon.)
1992 Dec – 2007 Jan
5 Prof. Toe Lwin M.B.,B.S., M.Med.Sc.(Surg.),
FRCSEd, Dr.Med.Sc.(Surg.),
2007 Mar – 2014 June
6 Prof. Kyaw Zwa Hlaing M.B.,B.S., M.Med.Sc.(Surg.),
FRCSEd, Dr.Med.Sc.(Surg.),
2014 June – so far

Contact Ph. No and Email

No Name Phone Number Email
1 Department of Urology 01 2301666 Ext 125