Department of Medicine

Professor Zaw Lynn Aung

MBBS, M Med Sc (Int Med), FACP, MRCP(UK), FRCP(Edin),
FRCP(Glasgow), FRCP(London), FRCP(Thai), DTM&H(London), Dip Med Sc(Med Edu)

Background History

The Department of Medicine was established together with other Clinical Departments in 1926 with Colonel Kelsall, IMS, as Head of Department, and he was later succeeded by Colonel RV Morison, IMS, until 1942.
During the Japanese occupation, when an alternative course for the M.B.,B.S degree was offered, Dr S. Sen served as the Head of the Department. After World War II, when the medical college was re-opened in 1945, Colonel Min Sein, IMS, was appointed as Professor and Head of the Department of Medicine and a Chair for Clinical Medicine also became established.
Teaching and training of undergraduates and postgraduates was initially undertaken by three main general medical wards of Yangon General Hospital (Ward 1&2, Ward 11&12, Ward 17&18) until 1967. To accommodate the increasing number of medical students, the Medical Wards at the Worker’s Hospital, the East Yangon General Hospital and the West Yangon General Hospital were also affiliated to the Department of Medicine. After construction of New Yangon General Hospital, Medical Ward of New Yangon General Hospital was also included and it became the Office of the Head of Department of Medicine, University of Medicine (1) Yangon. To be able to meet increasing demands of healthcare services, a new general medical ward (Medical Ward 4) was established in 2015. At the same time, Medical Ward 1&2, 17&18 and 11&12 were named as Medical Unit 1, Medical Unit 2 and Medical Unit 3, respectively.
With the establishment of various medical specialties such as Cardiology, Chest Medicine, Gastroenterology, Hepatology, Nephrology, Neurology, Haematology, Medical and Radiation Oncology, Dermatology, Radiology, Nuclear Medicine and Rehabilitation Medicine in Yangon General Hospital, these departments contribute their share in teaching and training of the undergraduate and postgraduate students. Psychiatric Hospital (Mental Health Hospital) is also involved in teaching and training of mental health for both undergraduate and postgraduate classes.

Department Heads

No Name Graduate From - To
1 Colonel Min Sein (1945-1959)
2 Professor Shwe Zan (1959-1963)
3 Professor U Aye (1963-1965)
4 Professor San Lwin (1965-1971)
5 Professor Hla Myint (1971-1982)
6 Professor Reggie Ba Pe (1982-1987)
7 Professor Khin Maung Win (1987-1988)
8 Professor Daw Hnin Yi (1989-1990)
9 Professor Mya Oo (1990-1991)
10 Professor Kyaw Myint Tun (1991-1997)
11 Professor Maung Maung Wint (1997-2001)
12 Professor Saw Naing (2001-2007)
13 Professor Nyunt Thein (2007-2013)
14 Professor Zaw Lynn Aung MBBS, M Med Sc (Int Med),
FRCP(Glasgow), FRCP(London),
FRCP(Thai), DTM&H(London),
Dip Med Sc(Med Edu)
(2013-to date)

Contact Ph. No and Email

No Name Rank Phone Number Email
1 Prof Zaw Lynn Aung Professor/Head 09 2000192,
2 Prof Hlaing Mya Win Professor 0943176333
3 Prof Zaw Than Htun Professor 09 5011617
4 Prof Aung Cho Myint Professor 09 5213003,
5 Prof Nyo Nyo Wah Professor 09795563527,
6 A P Dr Moe Naing Associate Professor 09 5149067
7 A P Min Zaw Oo Associate Professor 09 5027535
8 A P May Thandar Oo Associate Professor 09 5178950
9 Dr Hein Yarzar Aung Associate Professor 095145674
10 Dr Cho Mar Lecturer 095024067
11 Dr Saw Myat Thu Han Lecturer 09254416177
12 Dr Aye Myitzu Lecturer 095057704
13 Dr Aung Thwin Lecturer 095054931
14 Dr Nay Myo Oo Lecturer 09 2026594
15 Dr Sandar Shein Lecturer 095037153
16 Dr Sandar Pyone Lecturer 09 5159517
17 Dr Zar Chi Lwin Lecturer 095340386
18 Dr Thi Thi Tun Assistant Lecturer 09 5144392
19 Dr Min Min Assistant Lecturer 0943025157
20 Dr Santara Assistant Lecturer 0973199184
21 Dr Han Su Yin Assistant Lecturer 095363139
22 Dr Cho Cho Nwe Assistant Lecturer 095641004
23 Dr Aye Mon Oo Assistant Lecturer 098760271
24 Dr Htin Lin Kyaw Assistant Lecturer 095162557
25 Dr Cherry Wut Hmone Assistant Lecturer 095048338
26 Dr Chan Nyein Kyaw Assistant Lecturer 092132667