Department of Myanmar

Mi Tin Tin Soe Aye

B.A (Hons:), M.A

Background History

Before 1964, the Myanmar language studies of the Institute of Medicine was under the charge of the Myanmar language department of the Arts and Science University of Yangon. In 1964 the department of Myanmar was started at the Institute of Medicine I in Yangon, but the teaching of Myanmar language at the Institute of Medicine I was still under the management of the Yangon Arts and Science University. At that time, U Aye Maung (Damasriya) and Daw E Kyi (M.A) were the lecturing staff of Myanmar language. Daw Kyi Kyi Win (M.A), Daw Khin Mya Nwe (M.A), U San Phaw B.A (Hons) and Daw Thein Thein were tutors assigned to tutorial duty in rotation. In 1982, the department of Myanmar language was assigned to the management of Ministry of Health. Since then, it has been managed by the Ministry of Health.

Department Heads

No Name Graduate From - To
1 U Aye Maung (Damasriya) (1964 -1976)
2 Daw E Kyi M.A (1976 – 1984)
3 Daw San San Hlaing M.A (1984 – 1990)
4 Daw Thein Thein M.A (1990 – 1999)
5 Mi Tin Tin Soe Aye B.A (Hons:), M.A (1999 – to date)

Contact Ph. No and Email

No Name Rank Phone Number Email
1 Mi Tin Tin Soe Aye Head 09-5004886 mitintinsoeaye.uml
2 Daw Swe Swe Han Lecturer 09- 73147680 sweswehan @
3 Daw Khine Yin Win Lecturer 09- 5153247 Thakhinmalay 2
4 Daw Thida Min Lecturer 09- 2003150 Thida 05
5 Daw Khin Saw Oo Lecturer 09- 5412535