Department of Radiology



Radiological service has been given in YGH since 1930 with technicians hired from India. Dr D.C Vermani, DMRE acted as Radiologist in YGH from 1937 to 1951. In 1958 at the time of Dr U Kyaw Aung, Radio-diagnosis and Radiotherapy became separate departments, and diagnostic angiography has been done since then. In 1981, Dr U Tun Yee became first Professor and Head of Radiology.

In 1972, DMRD (Diploma in Medical Radio-Diagnosis), a two-year course, was opened. DMRD was closed in 1994. M.Med.Sc (Radiology), a two year course, was opened in 1992 and it was changed to three year course from 2014. In 2002, Dr.Med.Sc (Radiology) was opened. Dip.Med.Sc (Radiology) was opened in 2015.

Grey-scale Ultrasound machine was first used in YGH in 1979.Since 1981 December, Head CT has been done in Neurology department, YGH and in 1987, whole body CT in NYGH. Recently in YGH, there are functioning four CT machines. In 1987, Prof U Saw Than Tun Aung began to practise intervention Radiology procedures. New Interventional Radiology machine was installed in 2014 and Interventional Radiology procedures were performed from Feb, 2015. MRI services was given in YGH from December, 2003. 1.5 T MRI was installed in 2015.


1. Dr. Tha Din Lecturer, Radiology 1952
2. Dr. Kyaw Aung Consultant/Head 1958-1981
3. Prof. Tun Yee Professor/ Head of Radiology 1981-1988
4. Prof. Htay Myint Professor/ Head of Radiology 1988-1990
5. Prof. Saw Than Tun Aung Professor/ Head of Radiology 1991-1994
6. Prof. Myint Kyu Professor/ Head of Radiology, UM I 1994-2005
7. Prof. Lin Tun Tun Professor/ Head of Radiology, UM I 2005-2014
8. Prof. Oung Min Oo Professor/ Head of Radiology, UM I 2014-2015
9. Prof. Than Than Sint Professor/ Head of Radiology, UM I 2015- uptil now

Senior Teaching Faculty

Full – Time

1. Prof Than Than Sint Professor/Head of Radiology, UM 1
2. Prof Khin Lay Su Clinical Professor, Department of Health
3. Dr Aung Cho Tun Associate Professor/Senior Consultant Radiologist, UM1
4. Dr Thandar Lwin Associate Professor, UM I
5. Dr Seinn Moh Moh Lecturer, UM I
6. Dr Nyo Mar Than Swe Lecturer, UM I
7. Dr Tin Nwet Nwet Win Assistant Lecturer, UM I
8. Dr Thaw Thaw Hlaing Assistant Lecturer, UM I
9. Dr Khin Thandar Oo Assistant Lecturer, UM I


1. Dr Khin Mar Shein Associate Professor
2. Dr Kyawt Khin Associate Professor
3. Dr Yee Yee Khin Associate Professor
4. Dr Hnin Pan Nyunt Associate Professor
5. Dr Wint Nwe Hlaing Associate Professor
6. Dr Nan Bwar Bwar Senior Consultant Radiologist, YGH
7. Dr Wai Wai Htun Junior Consultant Radiologist, YGH
8. Dr Thazin Than Junior Consultant Radiologist, YGH
9. Dr Wah Wah Lin Maung Junior Consultant Radiologist, YGH
10. Dr Thuzar Myint Junior Consultant Radiologist, YGH
11. Dr Moe Phyu Zaw Junior Consultant Radiologist, YGH
12. Dr Htar Htar Junior Consultant Radiologist, YGH
13. Dr Hnin Ngwe Phyu Junior Consultant Radiologist, YGH
14. Dr Taryi Wint Junior Consultant Radiologist, YGH

Department of Radiology – Telephone No. and Email

No Name Phone Number Email
1. Prof. Than Than Sint 09-5011500
2. Prof. Khin Lay Su 09-73238256
3. AP Dr. Thandar Lwin 09-5148747
4. Dr. Seinn Moh Moh (Lecturer) 09-5046512
5. Dr. Nyo Mar Than Swe (Lecturer) 09-31787962
6. Dr. Tin Nwet Nwet Win (AL) 09-5058737
7. Dr. Thaw Thaw Hlaing (AL) 09-5149236
8. Dr. Khin Thandar Oo (AL) 09-254104141